Dying fish, please help!?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

th08tu

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello everybody,
This is my first time posting in this forum, so forgive me if I am doing something wrong. My question is I set up a 20 gallon tank about 5 weeks ago. Since then I planted it and added 6 guppies. Simply put nothing did very well, the plants wilted, and the fish didn't look healthy. Over the past 3 weeks I lost 2 guppies, and the plants were starting to disintegrate. I figure this is because there were toxic amounts of ammonia, and nitritite in the water as the nitrogen cycle was starting to develop. Yesterday when I got up I found two more guppies stuck to the filter intake. I was surprised as I thought my cycle was finished because of these readings on my test kit:
Ammonia: 0 ppm
Nitrite: 1 ppm
Nitrate: 5 ppm
Ph: 6.5
Kh: 40 ppm
GH: 180 ppm

I have a filter, bubble wall, heater, and proper lighting. Also last week I put in 4 cherry shrimp to help with keeping the substrate clean. The plants now seem to be growing fairly well as I can see new leaves, that are very green so that is why I am surprised about loosing my fish when the plants seem to be thriving again. Any ideas, advice etc. would be greatly appreciated before I go out and buy more fish and have to watch them die also. I can't find the cherry shrimp however I assume they are just hiding under rocks or something. Any tips to help save my fish and tank.

with nitrites still in the water the cycle has not completed fully. This substance is also toxic to fish.

The plants can be a bunch of factors including light or not having teh right type of plants.