Emergency! Very sick Oscar

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lethargic8

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am somewhat new to the aquarium world. Recently, in the past two days my oscar developed a white, what looked a scarpe. Today the white part just disolved it appears. I have pictures below. Thanks

Attachments

• picture_003_274.jpg
    picture_003_274.jpg
    88.2 KB · Views: 96
Hi and welcome Lethargic8.

Do you have test kits for ammonia, nitrite and nitrate? If so, can you please test and the post the results? What is the temp of the tank? How often do you do water changes and gravel vacs? Any tankmates with the oscar?

The Oscar has finrot, this is a bacterial infection that is usually caused by the Flexibacter columnaris bacteria. This type of infection can be brought on by any number of factors such as:

- poor water quality (ie- a cycling tank, nitrates over 20ppm, poor water change frequency)
- fighting/fin-nipping
- newly imported fish or fish that are new from the store
- pH shifting greater than 0.2pH points every couple days

Signs of finrot include:

- redness around the base of the spine of the fins
- ragged, torn or stumpy fins, sometimes with a white or greyish edge to them
- disintegrating fins

If the oscar is the only fish in the tank then you can treat him in the main tank, if not then he needs to be quarantined. Finrot can be treated using a combination of Maracyn and Maracyn 2. The Maracyn is erythromycin and will treat for the finrot, the Maracyn 2 is used to treat for any possible secondary bacterial infections that may be present.