First poor little Goldy... Please help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

unspankable

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everybody,

This is my first post and I'm very new to fish. I really really need help. I love animals very much and my silly girlfriend accepted a small Goldfish as a present knowing nothing about them. We have a Puny 'fluval Chi' 5 Gallon tank and at first everything seemed fine. Our fish got lethargic and started resting on the substrate, but would wake up in the morning. Then I noticed the poor little guy gasping at the top of the tank a couple of days later so I did a 50% water change.
Next day the poor guy was covered in white spots and part of his tail had started to erode, although i didn't know it at the time. I freaked out and read as much as I could as quickly as I could and bought NOX ich to clear the white spots.
The next day he looked way worse. Had clamped fins, rotting tail and white cloudy substance all over his rear half of his body. He looked very very sick.
I went and bought API test kit, API triple sulfa and API Fungus cure aquarium salt and Prime and came home and started a treatment of Triple sulfa and malachite green at 24 hr intervals, Fungus cure at 48 hour intervals and daily 30%-50% water changes with prime. I'm putting in Top Fin Bacterial supplement temporarily to try and help him through this although I know they will not form a sustainable colony.
Every water change i put in about a 1/2 teaspoon of aquarium salt.
Its been 3 days and he still seems very very very rough.

He has white cloudy looking 'mucusy' stuff hanging off of him, and white dots, no tail, all fins clamped. Is floating on the surface. Has a very hard time swimming down.
I don't know what to do.
The cloudy fungus looks worse than it did yesterday.