Fish Illnesses

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
G

The only fish illness i really know anything about is ich, because I have had to deal with it already and successfully treated it. However im not familiar with any other fish diseases. Could someone just highlight the basic fish diseases, causes, and treatements? Thanks, you have all been so helpful.

disease

Hi Ashley.

My views are not popular with many people, I have studied fish disease intensively over the last decade and I have been keeping and breeding fish for over 35 years. I once was one of those people who liked to "diagnose" fish and start dumping antibiotics and remedies into my tanks without any real understanding of what was happening. I saw the removal by the FDA of antibiotics out of aquarium stores 20 years ago, then saw them allowed again and I cringe at the way they are used. They are dangerous to our environment, they are dangerous to the people in your house and certainly have questionable benefits to your fish.

Fish are not unlike people in that they remain healthy until some type of stress situation cause their immune system to be supressed. In that situation they(and people), are suceptible to infection from various pathogens.

In fish, the main causes of stress are poor water quality, transporting from point A to point B, incompatible tankmates, and certainly poor feeding regimens. Fish are particularly prone to disease during new tank cycling.

When a fish is showing signs of illness the best thing to do is to start doing small partial water changes to reduce build ups of toxins in the water,,,stabilizing the temperature is also important and understanding what caused the stress and eliminating it is important.