Fish injury?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hb3133

Aquarium Advice Activist
I purchased a Zebra Danio, from Wal-mart, about 10 days ago. I just noticed that its on his last leg. It looks like he has a injured mouth. It's mouth is wide open and its on the bottom of the tank. It is like his jaw is pried open. This particular fish has always been a great eater . I am new to the hobby and I am currently cycyling my 20 gallon tank, day 11. My levels are currently at:

pH= 7.4
amonia= 0.5ppm
nitrite= 0ppm
nitrate=0ppm

So, I am assuming that it is an injury, sickness from toxic levels or a unhealthy purchase. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Does the mouth look cotteny? Lying at the bottem of the tank with mouth open could be a symptom of amonia poisoning but it might also be columnaris. Both problems would cause loss of appetite. Amonia poisoning would probably cause red gills or red streaking in the body of the fish. Is the one Danio the only fish in the tank? Have you recently done a water change? If so it's possible that the amonia was actually higher than 0.5 at some point.

Anyway I would do a 50% water change daily. IMO the fish may not make it through the cycle since you are at the very early stages of the cycle and the fish is already stressed. It could be that the fish has columnaris/cottenmouth and the amonia present in the tank is exacerbating this. Columnaris also tends to be contagious so if there are other fish in the tank they could be at risk and start to fall like dominos.

If you suspect the Columnaris then it might be a good idea to use aquarium salt.

Either way definitely do daily 50% water changes.

Here is a site that may help you diagnose your fish better

http://freshaquarium.about.com/od/diseaseprofiles/index_a.htm