Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-08-2012, 11:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Sammy S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 151
Fungus---- Please help!

It appears one of my betta fish has a fungal infection....any ideas how to remove it?
__________________

__________________
A day without fish, is like a day without sunshine
Sammy S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 11:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Sammy S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 151
It looks like cotton
__________________

__________________
A day without fish, is like a day without sunshine
Sammy S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 12:51 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kelbaker79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: st. louis, mo
Posts: 600
Can you get a picture?
__________________
kelbaker79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 07:04 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Sammy S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by kelbaker79 View Post
Can you get a picture?
---
Yes I will upload a picture, I will be conducting a major water change for him as well
__________________
A day without fish, is like a day without sunshine
Sammy S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 07:44 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
blackmolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 359
yes, a picture would be very helpful, but if it's cottony, it sounds like it could be columnaris. if it is, get him on some serious meds ASAP and give us some water parameters. i've heard maracyn can treat it but i have no idea how successful it is. when did you first notice this fungus?
__________________
- Blackmolly
blackmolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 07:49 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
As said when did you first notice it? Columnaris moves fast so if it was just in the last day I'd get on the meds ASAP. You need to get an antibiotic that fights gram negative bacteria.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 12:17 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Sammy S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two View Post
As said when did you first notice it? Columnaris moves fast so if it was just in the last day I'd get on the meds ASAP. You need to get an antibiotic that fights gram negative bacteria.
-
I noticed it just yesterday, all levels in the tank are normal, ph is 8.2 temperature is 77 degrees fahrenheit.

I just made a water change yesterday, because ammonia levels were developed into .25, which made me want to conduct an 18% water change
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020036.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	207.3 KB
ID:	69800   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020035.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	228.8 KB
ID:	69801  

__________________
A day without fish, is like a day without sunshine
Sammy S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 12:18 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Sammy S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 151
I thank you for all the help that is given.....I've had him for a year and I'd like for him to continue having adventures
__________________
A day without fish, is like a day without sunshine
Sammy S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 12:54 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Sammy S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 151
I purchased Furan 2
__________________
A day without fish, is like a day without sunshine
Sammy S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 04:18 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy S
I purchased Furan 2
Let us know how you go.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 04:31 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: California
Posts: 116
You said your tank has a ammonia level of 0.25ppm. How long has your tank been in operation? I know this is a basic question but has your tank been cycled? What type of filtration do you have?

The reason I asked is my tank has 50+ fish and yes I know its a little overstocked but I will be re homing a few of the newly born swordtails once they are bigger to a 29 gallon tank I will have setup and cycled in the next few months. Anyways I will be honest after my tank was cycled I never had a detectable ammonia level. If your tank is not cycled or you did something to kill off your beneficial bacteria that could explain the ammonia spike. If the fish is stressed do to a ammonia spike etc it could allow for disease to have an easier chance to infect fish.
__________________
"I am a nice shark, not a mindless eating machine. If I am to change this image, I must first change myself. Fish are friends, not food." - Finding Nemo movie
FreshwaterFishJunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 05:32 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Sammy S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreshwaterFishJunkie View Post
You said your tank has a ammonia level of 0.25ppm. How long has your tank been in operation? I know this is a basic question but has your tank been cycled? What type of filtration do you have?

The reason I asked is my tank has 50+ fish and yes I know its a little overstocked but I will be re homing a few of the newly born swordtails once they are bigger to a 29 gallon tank I will have setup and cycled in the next few months. Anyways I will be honest after my tank was cycled I never had a detectable ammonia level. If your tank is not cycled or you did something to kill off your beneficial bacteria that could explain the ammonia spike. If the fish is stressed do to a ammonia spike etc it could allow for disease to have an easier chance to infect fish.
----
My tank was fine but a little over stocked.....the tank is a 10g and had 2 gourami (blue paradise) and 2 neons in it that took up way too much space and apparently didn't belong there. I moved Ice in after and 24 hours after I moved him in that fungus happened
__________________
A day without fish, is like a day without sunshine
Sammy S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 05:59 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
blackmolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 359
i can't see the fungus very well from the pics. is it white? also, where is it on the body? manybe i'm looking in the wrong place?
__________________
- Blackmolly
blackmolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 08:22 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: California
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy S View Post
----
My tank was fine but a little over stocked.....the tank is a 10g and had 2 gourami (blue paradise) and 2 neons in it that took up way too much space and apparently didn't belong there. I moved Ice in after and 24 hours after I moved him in that fungus happened
Be careful, 2 neon tetras? They will have a lot of stress unless you have a school of them. I have 12 neon tertras but that would be to many for that tank. Are you planning on re homing any of the fish or moving to a bigger tank?
__________________
"I am a nice shark, not a mindless eating machine. If I am to change this image, I must first change myself. Fish are friends, not food." - Finding Nemo movie
FreshwaterFishJunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 08:24 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
I'm pretty sure the tetras and paradise fish where moved and replaced with the Betta.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 09:01 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Sammy S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two View Post
I'm pretty sure the tetras and paradise fish where moved and replaced with the Betta.
-----
yes they were all adopted out..... Ice is now upside down breathing awfully and I changed everything in the tank I don't know what else to do

If Ice ends up...passing on...... how long should I wait and what should I do before introducing news fish to the tank
__________________
A day without fish, is like a day without sunshine
Sammy S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 09:21 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy S
-----
yes they were all adopted out..... Ice is now upside down breathing awfully and I changed everything in the tank I don't know what else to do

If Ice ends up...passing on...... how long should I wait and what should I do before introducing news fish to the tank
I don't want to scare you but this is what I did.
Sterilizing tank with plants after columnaris

Changed everything? What exactly?
How you dosed the medication? He maybe reacting badly to it.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 09:26 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Sammy S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two View Post
I don't want to scare you but this is what I did.
Sterilizing tank with plants after columnaris

Changed everything? What exactly?
How you dosed the medication? He maybe reacting badly to it.
---
I fed him via brine as the breeder I had received him from told me to do, but hes been like that for a few hours now and I gave him the Furan an hour ago but I took out the plants and added new ones (moved Ice to my hospital tank) and boiled the decor
__________________
A day without fish, is like a day without sunshine
Sammy S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 09:34 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
What temperature have you got the hospital tank? Turn the temp down to 72-74F. It will help slow it down.
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 10:57 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Sammy S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two View Post
What temperature have you got the hospital tank? Turn the temp down to 72-74F. It will help slow it down.
---
Thank you, I turned it to 72; I will keep you updated as to how he's doing and I can't thank you enough for your help
__________________

__________________
A day without fish, is like a day without sunshine
Sammy S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fungus

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fungus on Goldfish fishlady100000 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 10 01-09-2012 12:42 PM
Fungus!!!!! crister13 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 2 10-23-2011 08:30 PM
Fuzzy fungus. Sigh. Rachel0001 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 2 09-10-2011 03:43 AM
Fungus on Koi - Please Help Neo79 Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 0 09-04-2011 05:37 AM
Fungus? Moorish.Idol Saltwater & Reef - Identification 5 07-08-2011 02:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×