Getting frustrated!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dr_girlfriend

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I have been battling some mystery disease on my flowerhorn for about 7 months now. It started out as a small white spot on her side. I treated it with salt and it seemed to stop growing but never went away. Then it started growing and another one popped up near her tail. Then one near her eye and now one right at the base of her dorsal fin. They have gone from the white spots to pitted lesions. I tried salt treatment a few times, I tried metro twice, I've done a treatment with prazi, and most recently 2 treatments of melafix once alone and one with pimafix. No change.

I'm reluctant to treat more aggressively until I can find out what exactly this is. If anyone has seen this or dealt with this before please let me know.

She is in a 29 gallon alone and water conditions are completely normal. Her appetite and behavior is normal.

Attachments

• fhpath.jpg
    fhpath.jpg
    50.4 KB · Views: 53
I have some questions...
What type of filter do you use? What are the tests measuring? Please provide numbers if possible on ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and pH. Pay close attention to nitrate levels. That's what I'm mostly interested in, though the other results have their own importance. Though stated the water parameters are all normal, but not everyone tests for nitrates. Nitrates are often overlooked and can actually be a source of disease.

Being the fish is alone in it's tank, the problem may have come from either any live feeder fish or something in the water allowing for disease causing bacteria to thrive such as high nitrates. 7 months is an aweful long time. Something isn't right with the water somewhere.

I'm guessing that's a fungal/bacterial type of infection. Hard to tell from the picture...are these lesions fuzzy?