Got the Ich

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jgeezer1986

Aquarium Advice Activist
Lost a sword tail.. have three left , two tiger barbs, two mollies and an african dwarf frog in my 55g. Which method would be the best for treatment? Salt, meds or raising the temp to 86f?

Edit: I also have three neons but do not seem effected yet... i would like to put my two cories from my 20 in to the 55 also. In the years i have had tanks this is the first time i have had an infestation of ich. Thanks in advance

I would say add some freshwater aquarium salt and raise the temperature very slowly to about 85-86f. Although I'm not an ich expert so might wanna wait for someone to verify.

Got Rid Ich+ from the store today. Any use this stuff? Lady at the lps told me it was the best they sold..

I don't know how to use it but most likely, if you do, it will kill your good bacteria that convert ammonia to nitrite, and nitrite to nitrate, meaning you'll have a whole re-cycle after dosing.

Thought i might update with Rid Ich+

Feb 25,2010. Ich noticed, not prevelant, just black molly showd spots. Increased Temp from 76F to 78f

Feb 26,2010 Ich increased, increased temo from 78f to 80F

Feb 27,2010 Ich got worse, lost a swordtail , increased temp to 82F and started treatment. Only used half dose to start to acclimate fish to meds. No change in ICH

Feb 28, 2010 Increased temp to 86f. Ich disappearing.

Mar 1, 2010 3:30 AM. No ich spots. Only thing left is a white eye on my black molly. All fish seem to be more active. No ich spots on any of the fish.

I am going to continue treatment on tank until bottle is gone to ensure ICH is gone. Water perameters are all good accordng to cheap dip strips and pet store tests. ( I am buying an API master kit. Test strips have been accurate but i still do not trust them)