Gourami with Dropsy, dead in 1 day

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bman

Aquarium Advice Freak
Yesterday, while at work my wife called me on the phone. She said my gourami was bloated and his scales were sticking out; also was lethargic and going to the top of tank slowly to get some air, then slowly returning to the bottom. His eyes were bulging out as well.

Feeling like my hands were tied because I was at work, I did some research to arm myself with the knowledge for whatever I was in store for when I arrived at home.

It was dropsy :cry: It's odd how I studied my whole tank and it's members the following day and everyone looked healthy and happy, then in the span of 12 hours, he blew up, and in another 12 he died. From the research I did, I guess there's not much to do once this happens, and treatment does not work MOST of the time. I was preparing an ice bath for him, and when it was ready he had already died.

Water parameters are in excellent condition.
That makes four fish dead in two weeks.

Tank is starting to look bare.

So sorry to hear about your loss. Dropsy is a terrible illness IMO. Bad luck also seems to hit over a short span. Hopefully things will turn around for you now.

Thanks Zagz.

It was helpful reading your experience with your gourami and dropsy, VERY HELPFUL. I guess I was a little more fortunate that he died quickly, and did not prolong the inevitable.

Testing the water today I noticed that my NitrAte level is at about 40-60. Sounds high, but I'm not sure if that was the cause of my recent problems. This level has raised slowly over a week from about 20 (Which is my target level to maintain).

dropsy is usually cause by either bad water conditions or is a secondary illness. Did your gourami look or act sick before this happened?