Guppy w/ Swollen Chest

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Manic Fury

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello,

Sadly, I had a guppy die on me tonight.

Over the past month I noticed the male guppy that I have been keeping for about 4-5 months now was getting a swollen chest. I thought that what I presumed to be a male guppy, was in fact a female, and that she may have been pregnant.

With that thought in mind, I watched him/her intently over the past couple of weeks. It wasn't showing signs of pregnancy. I began to get worried and his chest was so big that I thought it might explode!

Well, tonight I came home from work and noticed that the other guppy that I have wasn't following the other one. They were always together and when I noticed that the other wasn't around the now deceased guppy, I got worried. I searched the bottom of the tank and found him at the bottom, not moving. :(

I took him out and inspected, and his belly was stretched and bulging out. I have no idea what could have happened. I checked water parameters and everything is 100% fine.

Sorry for the long story, but I wanted to make sure I got everything across. Does someone have an idea of what could have caused this? Any and all help would be much appreciated.

Unfortunately no. I gave him a watery funeral 10 mins after I took him out.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Did you see any scales sticking out, like a pinecone? I am guessing either bloat of dropsy was your issue. Dropsy is accompanied by the pinecone look. Bloating can happen for a variety of reasons, including genetic pre-disposition and diet. After a fish has died, I always suggest doing a big pwc in the tank. Other than that, I would just keep an eye on your other fish for any symptoms to make sure nothing is lingering in your tank.