Help!!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Paul1620

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,I have a 30"x15x12 coldwater set up that has been running now for around 4 weeks. I am a beginner. I have 3 very small lionhead a and 2black moors.
I have kept on top of feeding and water changes as well as hoovering the gravel. The algal bloom has gradually subsided.
To my horror over the last few days all of my fish have taken to gathering together in one corner at the bottom of the tank underneath the filter!!!!
They look as if they are on their way out and are hardly moving!

What do I do?

What do you mean the algal bloom has subsided. Do you have a bubbler in the tank? have you checked the ph levels or amonia levels?

You had an algae problem and bombed it with algae chemicals? Change the water ASAP and more than 30% I would do %50, My girlfriend bombed our tank with algae killer once and it killed both my convicts and all its fry. Hope its not to late and this helps, keep me posted.

We need to know how the water tests? How long has this been up and running? If you.just had an algae bloom it could mean a quite a few thing. :)

When I say bloom-I mean the water turned very cloudy white about a week after putting the first fish in,but with water changes -no chemicals this cleared. Water is clear now but the fish are all but dead at the bottom of the tank?

Paul1620 said:
When I say bloom-I mean the water turned very cloudy white about a week after putting the first fish in,but with water changes -no chemicals this cleared. Water is clear now but the fish are all but dead at the bottom of the tank?