Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-11-2014, 06:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Help bad whitespot

My goldfish have a bad case of white spot esp my large Black Moor. I think this has happened because of a new addition to the tank. Luckily I have whitespot no 6 to hand the problem is I dosed the tank without knowing exactly what the media I have in my new canister external filter im fairly new to goldfish keeping only been a year the external filter I have had for a bout 3 months I haven't change the media at all. The thing is the water didn't go greenish as it has done before when I used anit whitespot. I have one black thin sponge in the filter and the rest are blue. I DONT know what the blue ones contain it says nothing on the filter. The thing is when I have used anti white spot in the past I notice within a day all the whitspots disappeared yet this time it hasn't happened and my large black moor is covered in spots. I decided to remove 75% of the water and redoes but still no different. I have removed the black sponge just incase it still has carbon in it. DO I NEED to remove the blue sponges to they contain anything which will remove medication from the tank. I removed the carbon sponge after I did the second dose should I remove 75% again and redose again. (obviously I am scared of overdosing them. Or should I leave it as the second dose is due in four days and leave the external filter off. I don't want to redose if the blue sponges take the medication out of the water. Any advice greatly appericated. Also I have had the anti whitespot for nearly a year should I use a new one. although it says goes out of date in 2016

Old 10-11-2014, 06:43 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic