Help fish dying on a regular basis

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zkt

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ive had this set up far a couple months now.

[/img]
P9040360.JPG

30 Gal
lotsa light and co2
high flow filter
all the chem levels are normal
Current Residents :
2" redfin shark
2.5" pink gourami
2- 2" albino corys
3 neon tetras
1.5" swordtail
native pond snails
Ive lost too many tetras to count, several swordtails, 2 gouramis, 2 female bettas, and a male betta over the past month or so. Seems like every days or 2 something either dies or is killed. Several of them have had chewed tails but not all. Dont see any visible signs of disease but Im kinda new at this. Sure would appreciate some suggestions as to what the problem might be.

zkt

you say chemestry is normal.. what are you exact readings of Ammonia, nitrite, nitrate?

nh3/nh4+ : .25
no3 : 20
no2- : 0
Kh : 120
pH : 7.2

your chemestrys are not normal..you should never have any trace of ammonia or nitrite and you have .25ppm of ammonia. That is probably what is killing your fish.. It sounds to me like with all the fish you HAD your tank was overstocked and you probably had an ammonia spike. Now with your tank you aren't overstocked but you need to take measures to get that ammonia down.

Do daily water changes until your ammonia gets back down to zero. And don't add any more fish until it is steady at zero.. that way you know yoru biological filter can take care of the waste. DO NOT add any chemicals to the water to remove ammonia.

Well, actually it was questionable whether the ammonia was zero or the next highest reading on the test strip. Ill check it again. Nitrite is zero. Theres a little nitrate for the plants.
The ammonia is zero.

i would say that if there is any color in the ammonia at all then that means some is present, if you aren't sure.