Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-05-2008, 03:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

help my fishy

hello, im new to fish keeping i have 2 v young kids and thought it would be easy and fun. what a tw*t i am. i have 3 fantails in a 125 liter tank with plants and stuff. one is realy greedy and big, the other 2 are slightly smaller and have white poo. also one is a little bit head down in the water 45 degrees and ocasionaly swims up quickly to the surface and then goes back down again. all are eating something. i didnt know where to post this by the way. im doing my best for these fish but i dont feel like anything i do is good enough. theyve been in there 2-3 weeks and i had there water tested and its fine. im going to drink wine now and drown my sorrows befor i go to bed and get woken up all night.

Old 12-05-2008, 04:48 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin

Tank of the Month Award

Welcome to AA. I will post it in the appropiate forum where you`ll get plenty of answers.

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank

AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 05:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

I would be concerned about your water quality. 2-3 weeks is probably not enough for a full cycle. (You need to get your own liquid test kit, not strips, and test it yourself for ammonia, nitrite, and nitrates. Here we like the API Master Freshwater Test Kit.)

How often and how much do you feed the fish? If you're feeding anything more than what they will eat in 2-3 minutes ONCE per day, scale back to that amount.