Help treating ich

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ecarbon03

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm fairly new to fish keeping - just a couple of months in and I recently discovered a bunch of white spots on one of my fish which my LFS told me was ich. My tank is cycled and I do weekly water changes but lost 7 fish in the last 2 weeks. I bought 3 green tiger barbs and 2 died within 2 days of having them and the third ended up with white spots so I took him out of the tank and it eventually died. I turned up the heat and did a 50% water change to be on the safe side however I've lost 4 fish over the last few days. I didn't notice any spots on them but could they have died from the ich? I tested my water and brought to the LFS to be tested here are the readings:
Ammonia 0
Nitrites 0
Nitrates 5
Ph 7.4

I thought they may have died because of my water but the man at the fish store told me it's most likely ich so I bought pay super liquid ich cure - is this helpful? As I said I'm fairly new to this and any insight would be helpful. Thank you.

Welcome to AA!!!!

I am sorry your having a bit of a bump in the road here on your new adventure. Can you tell us a bit more on how you have treated ich so far?

Temp (86-88f) is usually sufficient to treat but it needs to be turned up very gradually and extra aeration is also necessary as warmer water holds less oxygen. Water changes should be very frequent along with good gravel vacs. It also takes time to treat via the heat method and it will not be cured quickly. Salinity can also be increased gradually if all your fish are salt tolerant.

Did you quarantine the new fish for a couple of weeks before adding them to your main tank? Qt is the best preventative available and it's also the most cost efficient over the long haul. Please do not hesitate to ask questions! :)