Hillstream Loaches & Oranda - discoloration and sudden death

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Little-AL

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi Guys,

I purchased 2 x Hillstream Loaches and a small Oranda from a local LFS (that I have never used before but have quite a good rep from what I can gather) - brought them home and got them settled in to my tanks (Oranda in one tank with another small Oranda that I already had and the two loaches in my larger tank - already has one small loach, a few oranda and some gold minnows).
Noticed yesterday (Sunday) that the oranda had an odd white mucus type coating all over its body - it was just sitting on the gravel and not doing very much at all.
Both loaches had a white coating over parts of their bodies (could just about make out their markings).

This evening when I returned home from work the Oranda is about the same - not eating, not moving - when caught in net it didn't move or flap - just very slow breathing...
Both Loaches were dead - they had gone nearly totally white (I can upload a pic if it will help).

I have tested water and both tanks are: PH 7.4, Amm 0, Nitrite 1ppm, Nitrate 5ppm. All of my other fish are fine, the other loach in my tank is also fine - skitting around as usual, no discoloration etc. Same with the rest of my fish - all are absolutely fine - no visible disease, all eating and swimming as normal.

Now the fish that I bought were kept in separate tanks that I would assume are all linked through one large filter/sump system in the shop - is it possible that they were all carrying some form of disease and introducing them in to my tanks has brought it out? Should I start dosing my tanks with medication to make sure the rest of my fish stay ok?

Any help or advice would be great as I obviously don't want to lose any of my other fish!