Hole in Head Syndrome in my Oranda?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jirski

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm relatively new to the hobby and have been learning quite a lot. One of the issues I've been having is my chocolate oranda seems to be floating at the surface with his tail higher than his head (he does seem to be able to swim down to the bottom to grab sinking food but when he's resting he's not swimming and floating at the top). I did some research and know that this is a swim bladder thing. I felt like I may have overfed or fed food that didn't agree with him, so I held food for 2 days, and slowly started adding shelled peas and soft gel repashy food on day 3. He seems more active but still floating. I noticed that his poop seemed a little mucus-y, like more white and stringy than it should be. I also noticed a lesion on his head. I swabbed the lesion with a hydrogen peroxide q-tip and it seems to be healing well. I put him in a quarantine tank and put the temp up to 76, added aquarium salt, removed any lights that could burn his back, ran a uv light, took out the activated carbon from the filter and started melafix. I'm on day 3 of that right now. I bought metroplex to treat what I thought might be hole in the head disease. Now I know that seems crazy, and that usually you can fix everything with great water changes as good clean water is the best cure-all... but everything together (the unresolved swim bladder issue, the stringy poop, the lesion on his head) made me feel like he might need something more. The metroplex is arriving tonight.