How can I tell when the dreaded ich is gone?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shezz

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm a beginner at this and I think I have experienced every problem possible in spite of reading and surfing... and of course doing all the done things.

We purchased our first fishe(s) 9 (I think that was the problem) and we developed major white spot 3 days later. That stuff is a nightmare to get rid of! Anyway, I think its gone but how can I be sure before I introduce any more fish?
I have two fish that survived but I'm not sure if they just developed a resistance to it (I read somewhere that this is possible once they have suffered from it).

I'm feeling pretty impatient about going out to get at least one new one because I miss my ddeceasedfriends...and it was terrible to watch them slowly drop off (not to mention heartbreaking when I had to fish them out!). Also the fish that are left are bbecomingaggressive towards one another (male siamese fighter and male dwarf gourami). I was hoping that the introduction of more fish might sort out the territory problems I'm having at mo.

Any advice?
shezz

What size tank is this? Did you add all 9 fish soon after setting up the tank? Did you check the ammonia levels during this process?

If you added that many fish right from the start then your fish where probably stressed from elevated ammonia levels giving them a lower resistance to ich. If ammonia levels where elevated then this would have also hurt the fish's chance for survival.

If you can test your ammonia an dsee if you have any. If your tank is ammonia free then you could add a 'few' more fish. If your tank is smaller than 15 gal then you should only add 2 fish at a time. If your tank is above 15 gal then you could probably do 3-4 fish at a time.

Hiya shezz and welcome to Aquariumadvice.