How did my tank get Ich?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cyates

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello, I'm new to aquariums, and I would like to know how my tank got Ich so that I can avoid repeating mistakes.

I have a 55 gallon tank that is about 3 months old.
It is a community tank, but also has a figure eight puffer. The fig8 was biting fins, so I decided to give him his own tank.
I already had a ten gallon that should have just completed cycling, that I just populated with all live plants.

I put the puffer in this tank, but he didn't seem to like it much. He tried to "break through the glass" for a long time, and at first he ate okay, but then stopped eating as much and developed ich.

I very stupidly put the puffer back in the 55gal because of these symptoms thinking that something was wrong with the 10gal, and I was right but that infected my 55gal.

My question is, how did the ten gallon get ich? Could it have been carried on the live plants from the LFS? I had other fish in there even with the plants that didn't get the ich before I put the puffer in.

Also, do I have to take all the plants out of the 10gal to treat it?

i dont think so. ive never encountered ich. i think he already had ich but his immune systems or whatever was fighting it off. when you moved it you probally stressed the fish out making it more able to get ich.

i think you put the temp to 86. i dont think you should put salt in there because its a scale less creature.

if your 10 gallon is already cycled you should put the puffer in there and treat it in there. but since (i think) your 55 gallon is already infected i think you should treat him in there. or put the fig8 puffer and any other scale less creatures in the 10 gallon and do the temp thingy and put salt in the other tank.