How do I determine what killed my fish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

padderson

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've had a 20g planted and a 10g tank for about 6 months now and both are thriving. My guppies continue to have fry survive and so I fear my tanks will become overstocked. Therefore, I picked up a 20g that someone was giving away for free. I have no knowledge of the tank history, just that they left it on the front porch for me. It had an aquarium background taped on and a single fluorescent lamp fixture, both of which I disposed of...but it seemed to be an "aquarium" setup (versus terrarium or other).

I scrubbed the tank with an aquarium scrubber and warm/hot water from my shower hose (I did not use diluted vinegar or bleach--perhaps I should have). I let it sit in the shower, filled, to leak test it and all was good. I just set it up this past wed with new gravel, filter, and decorations--all pre rinsed. I also moved some plants, decorations, and filter media from my 10g tank. I put in some danios which I already had I the 10g. I'm not trying to start a discussion re fish-in vs fishless cycling...I had these fish already and was planning on the new tank being their long term home. And I do daily water checks and changes when needed.

Within 2 days the danios were looking slow and sick...sometimes gasping at the surface. I did a full water check with the API freshwater kit and everything was fine. I mean, the tank has only been set up for 3 days, so there was no nitrate, nitrite, or ammonia yet. Ph, softness, and alkalinity were standard (I also used the strips to re-check) and all normal for my water and compared to my other tanks. I had used seachem neutralizer and dechlorinator as well as stresscoat and QuickStart when i filled the tank, so chlorine shouldn't be a problem.