Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-06-2011, 01:20 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bettababe1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest
Posts: 5,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackSpadesSI

Do you keep fish in your permanent QT to keep it cycled at all times?
You wouldn't have to. You'd just be fishless cycling 24/7 is what I think she means. But you know what they say about assuming... Lol.
__________________

__________________
Fish are friends, not food!
-Dakota
Bettababe1011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 01:36 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackSpadesSI View Post
Do you keep fish in your permanent QT to keep it cycled at all times?
If you have fish in a QT, then it's no longer a QT but a DT, right?

I keep a spare filter running on my DT and if I ever need to QT any fish I can do so in about 10 minutes. I have a spare tank (actually a 5g clear plastic bin) set aside with a heater and light and you don't even need the light. When I need to, I fill the QT up with a 50/50 mix of tank water and dechlorinated water, pull the spare filter from my DT, plug in the heater and I have a fully cycled ready to go QT.

The best part is I'm not wasting additional electricity, doing PWC and whatever else to keep an empty tank running for god knows how long between uses.
__________________

__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 03:32 PM   #13
Mog
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 66
Mr. Limpet,

I have a question for you about that... I have a 75g and purchased a 10g for a QT tank. I was planning on doing the same thing as you and figured a little extra filtration wouldn't hurt. The problem I ran into, is that the filters rated for a smaller tank, won't fit on the rim of the 75g.

Are you using a larger rated filter? Other than taking the pad out and putting into my canister, any ways to get it mounted on the 75?

Thanks
__________________
Mog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 03:43 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mog View Post
Mr. Limpet,

I have a question for you about that... I have a 75g and purchased a 10g for a QT tank. I was planning on doing the same thing as you and figured a little extra filtration wouldn't hurt. The problem I ran into, is that the filters rated for a smaller tank, won't fit on the rim of the 75g.

Are you using a larger rated filter? Other than taking the pad out and putting into my canister, any ways to get it mounted on the 75?

Thanks
If you have room in your filter to put the pad in, it will seed and be ready just like I do with an extra HOB on my tank. Extra (reasonable) filtration is never a bad thing .

As for modifying the 10g filter to fit the 75g, I wouldn't do it to mine. Have you tried putting it on the rim and seeing if the intake tube reaches below the waterline? I'm just thinking that even if it doesn't fit all the way down onto the rim, as long as it's stable, can p/u water and the output goes into the tank without making a wet mess, it'll still filtering (and seeding for the QT).
__________________

__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
quarantine, quarantine tank, set up, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
want to set up quarantine tank andreahp Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 01-30-2011 06:44 AM
How to set up a quick Quarantine Tank for Velvet WhiteCloud Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 4 07-11-2005 03:24 PM
Quarantine Tank Set-up badfish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 05-12-2005 07:17 PM
How to set up Quarantine Tank? cconemanband Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 11-21-2004 12:42 AM
Quarantine tank set up, waiting for fish to arrive leafyseadragon Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-13-2004 11:08 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.