I gambled and won... ICH :/

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Enki

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm a born again newbie, learning all kinds of lessons, again. :oops:

I KNOW I should have a QT, but I succumbed to temptation. Danios a couple weeks ago, and Yo-Yo Loaches just this weekend.

I noticed a little flashing before the yoyos came, but in the last two days the flashing has increased noticeably. Tonight during some fish time, I noticed 1 translucent pimple just above and behind the gill on my second largest Ngara. I haven't seen ich in a couple decades, but I am pretty sure that's what I saw tonight. :mad: One spot is enough for me!

Wherever it came from, I am already working to kill it. Those protozoa are going down! :uzi:

I am increasing the temp in the tank as we speak, gonna start water changes every other day, increase salt levels with those.

Well, thanks. Had to vent to folks who would empathise.

BTW I am adding to my resolutions! NO new fish 'til I have a QT!

"BTW I am adding to my resolutions! NO new fish 'til I have a QT!"

I know the feeling! The last fish I bought were my Rams which brought in Ich AND Anchorworms. I got rid of the Ich fine, the Anchworms killed a Guppy then went away after I dosed the tank with Maracide.

I might get some male Fancy Guppies from my father this weekend. He has been raising two batches of fry in a grow out tank and they are just now getting to show their full colors. They should be pretty free of sickness, but I am so paranoid about getting my fish sick again I might not bother.

Update: Temp is up to 88f, and a salt solution is slowly being added to bring up salinity.

I took some tankwater and dissolved the whole amount of salt I wanted into that. Now that tankwater is being dripped back into the tank with some airline tubing. I figure this would create a slow steady rise in salt level.