I think I have ick!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sunni

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have noticed a few white salt spots on my tetras and I want to take care of this before it gets too bad... I have Aquarisol on hand but I have heard something about not using it with Amquel/Novaqua? What else can I use? To complicate matters my Platy is having babies (I have seen one so far but we have a heavily planted tank).

BTW, salt is really not an option due to my cories... I also have a loach and oto that it may hurt as well.

Any Advice appreciated!

Check the following:
Temperature fluctations
pH fluctuation
Water parameters ie. ammonia, nitrite, nitrate levels.
Correcting one of the above may help.

I am only new to the hobby myself but I definitely would not add salt with your types of fish. The main cause could be temp change but check all the above.

I hope you get some more feedback :wink:
Louise

If salt and meds are not an option, heat always is. Ich cannot survive over 82 or so, put your heat up to 84 or so for a week. Hopefully this will do the trick. I usually do this in combo with salt, but give it a try on its own, I'll keep my fingers crossed for ya!

Not making fun of your fish having Ich, but the title of the thread made me smile, I just imagined a person covered in little white dots! :lol: