Ich or not?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jessipanda

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey guys, picked up a free 45 bow from a friend and her remaining inhabitants last weekend. This angel has some strange white spots on it that don't appear to be ich to me. They just appeared today as I have been staring at these 6 fish since I transported them and never saw them before. The spots are only on the fins. They're raised and are shaped kind of like tiny grains of rice. As far as I know, ich is is circular, not elongated as these are...but I don't know if it CAN be elongated like this. Just want to make sure I know what it is before I start medicating/going to war.

Thanks in advance for any and all input!

Attachments

• 1201181756-1~2.jpg
    1201181756-1~2.jpg
    242.4 KB · Views: 106
It doesn't seem to be ich, but i'm not an expert. Can you get a clearer picture? also if you can get your water parameters, please reply with them!

It doesn't seem to be ich, but i'm not an expert. Can you get a clearer picture? also if you can get your water parameters, please reply with them!
0 amm, 0 nitri, <10 nitra, 74°F
Just did a 50% water change today. Didn't notice it before that. Tested my well water 0, 0, 0...I will try to get a clearer picture in the morning.

Okay! Hopefully that helps. Though, it could be another kind of parasite. We’ll see with a clearer picture, i suppose. Id suggest just closely monitoring your fish and keeping up with your water changes.

Can't really get a clearer pic...I used my bf's phone this morning so it's a smidge better, but we don't have any other cameras that would take really clear close ups.

They don't appear to be moving and don't appear to have multiplied since last night.123951_21.jpg