Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-25-2013, 07:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Ich problem / treatment

Okay, so I'm new to this aquarium stuff, and have a few questions about ich.

I have a 38 gallon tropical community tank, consisting of 2 cory cats, 3 clown loaches, 1 silver dollar, and 1 angel fish. A few days ago I noticed the clown loaches started to get white spots, and after looking at pictures, it appeared to be Ich.

Here is what I did: I introduced some aquarium salts, I slowly turned up the heat from about 79 degrees to about 86 degrees, and I added a product called Tetra Ick Guard.

After 3 days, it appears my loaches, and possibly my cats, are not going to make it. I caught this extremely early, and even now there are very few spots on the fish. Did I do something wrong? It was my understanding that this is a fairly easy problem to correct. My ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate levels are still excellent. My pH doesn't appear to have changed.

Any advice would be welcome.

Old 05-26-2013, 12:36 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

I am in the same boat. Did you aggregate the surface?

Old 05-26-2013, 02:01 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Cories and loaches are sensitive to salt and most meds. It's usually recommended to give a half dose.
You will need to increase surface agitation as the warmer the water is, the less oxygen it is able to hold. Are you doing water changes at least every couple of days? Also be sure to thoroughly siphon the gravel to remove any parasites that have dropped off.
What are your parameters? Ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, ph?
Old 05-26-2013, 12:00 PM   #4