Ick help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

azn dreamer

Aquarium Advice Activist
One of my platties have ick. I have 3 platties, 1 guppy, and 1 tiger barb.

The other seems fine but i want to ask

i have heard that salt is really good for treatment for ick but should i place my infected platty in another tank to give it a salt bath or should i just put salt in the original tank? I also heard that raising heat was good treatment for ick so should i raise the temp of the original tank with the sick platty inside or get it to another tank?
:(
Thnx in Advance :?

I'm no pro, so I'm hoping others chime in.

I'd say get the sick one into his own tank and treat him in there, but also treat the other tank as well. The only reason I'd separate him is because if the others don't have it, you don't want them to get it. Now, if it's inevitable that they'll get it (which is the part I don't know), then just leave him where he is and treat the whole tank.

I think the temperature that the ich bacteria can't live at is 82(?), and I'm not sure the amount of salt that will be good. You can also get some medication for the tank as well. There are many varieties. Check with your LFS.

Good luck!
-j

Heat and Salt should get rid of ick within a week+ but make sure other fish can tolerate salt.

Malachite green based medicines are also good for ich. Make sure you remove your carbon first though...

Just another thought...
You should take the cartridge (if you have one in your filter) and cut the carbon out. Just make a little slice in it. That way you can still have the filter running to get rid of fishy waste and excess food.