Icky Ick

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

aquazen

Aquarium Advice Freak
Good day. I've been using Quick Cure for 4 days now at half dosing in my tank. Found out my glass fish had ick for 2 days before I started treatment, so I'm treating the entire tank. At any rate, there is some resolution of the ick, but not complete. I was wondering if it is okay to go over the 5 day treatment stated on the label. I've never used this before, so any info would be welcome.

Have you seen the ich article on this site: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/showquestion.php?faq=2&fldAuto=32
Many people here have had success with the heat, or heat and salt, treatment.

If you continue with the meds, dose until 3-5 days after you see the last white spot. Each time you dose the medicine, you only kill the ich that are in the theront, or free-swimming, stage. The ich that is in the other stages of its cycle are not susceptable to meds. By continuing the medicine, you make sure to get all the parasites as they break out of the cysts and enter the free-swimming stage.

I would switch to the heat and salt treatment. Keep it going for another two weeks after the ich is gone.

Salt and heat

I'm just worried about what adding salt and increasing the temp will do to the gourami and 2 plecos I have on board with the 2 infected glass fish. Will they be okay with the change? I heard that salt is not too good for plecos.