introduction & fish illness

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ghettorigged

Aquarium Advice Regular
Greetings.

With great joy I join your schoal! :D

I am a newbie aquarist with a used 50 gallon aquarium set up for freshwater fish. I chose corys, neons, bloodfins, ottos, and flames together in small schools as well as a lovely pair of baby angels. I also have live plants. My tank has been set up for about 3 months and I have enjoyed it greatly. I can't imagine having home without an aquarium!

Unfortunately, I found this wonderful site in a frantic search to find a solution to my recent aquarium woes. I went on an emergency family visit for a week and had some one watch my tank while I as away. When I returned, one of my corys was missing and one died two days later. I tested the water and found nothing wrong but that the pH was high (went from 7.1 to about 7.6). I changed the peat in my filter and it has dropped back down to 7.1. Now, after another week, I have a neon that has been losing color for a few days. Tonight, after several experienced aquarists said to destroy the fish, I sadly did so.

The problem is that no one has come to look at the tank to tell me what could be wrong! Are my other fish in danger? I was told that I must not be taking care of my tank, but I assure you that I do weekly water changes and also test my water at that time. I may be new to the hobby, but I have pruchased and read at least 5 books on setting up aquariums before and after I set one up. The fish were put in the tank very slowly and the angles were the last added over one month ago. I had 32 fish in all. 4 groups of 5 and 10 neons, plus 2 tiny angels. Now I am down to 29 fish since I lost the 2 corys and 1 neon.