I've only had this betta 4 hours already a problem!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lima

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've been looking forward to getting a betta for a while now. I cycled a 5 gallon aquarium and today went to get the betta for it. I found a blue crowntail that appeared to be in very good shape...no fin damage, no spots or skin issues, perked right up when I turned the little cup on the shelf. He looked great! I introduced him to his new home as gradually as I could, taking a little bit of water out of the cup, adding a little bit of water from the aquarium. Unfortunately I'm a nurse and got called in to work for an emergency so the process got cut a bit short and I put him in his new tank shortly before I left (I probably should have waited but thought we were okay).

I was at work about 3 hours then came home and checked on him, and found him floating on his side at the top of the tank. He's still quite feisty and if I touch the lid of the tank he tries to right himself and swim around but then appears to tire and ends up back on his side.

It definitely looks like swim bladder and from the web searches I've been doing appears to be a relatively common issue with betta...just worried I've done something that triggered this without realizing it. From what I'm reading the best thing to do is fast him for a few days and it will potentially resolve on its own. Does this sound like the best course of action? Any idea if anything specific to the move may have caused this (stress, etc)? Will take any advice. Just so frustrated I was so excited to get this guy and just hours later I've got an issue.

Stats:
5 gallon tank
Heated to 78
Filtration is unplugged for now because it seemed too strong

pH 7.8
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0