Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-01-2008, 10:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Montreal QC CA
Posts: 263
Jungle Labs - Fungus Clear

i've used this to attempt to treat 4 of my fish, i know this is supposed to kill all bacterias (including cycle ones)

SO...

i stopped the filter, and put in the water a little bit of fish food,

i have to re-do the treatment in 24 hours (pwc and then 3 more pills),
do you think the fish food will be enough to generate ammonia to maintain the bacteria colony alive in my filter ?
__________________

__________________
MisticX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 01:06 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
An t-iasg's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Criders Corners, PA
Posts: 9,889
When I treated one time with an antibiotic, I removed the filter media (a small sponge) and put it in some tank water in a plastic ziploc bag. I put it in the refrigerator and added some fish food into the bag every day. At the end of the treatment (about a week) I tested the bag water for ammonia and the result was 0. Hopefully you can keep your good bacteria alive too by using fish food to generate some ammonia.
__________________

__________________







An t-iasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 02:39 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SpeedEuphoria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: BCM
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by An t-iasg View Post
When I treated one time with an antibiotic, I removed the filter media (a small sponge) and put it in some tank water in a plastic ziploc bag. I put it in the refrigerator and added some fish food into the bag every day. At the end of the treatment (about a week) I tested the bag water for ammonia and the result was 0. Hopefully you can keep your good bacteria alive too by using fish food to generate some ammonia.
Sounds good. One question though, why put it in the refrigerator?
__________________
10G,Planted- Endler's Livebearers+RCS, 55G,planted
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson View Post
Understanding the basics will let you make informed decisions on what advice to follow, and what advice is just plain hooey!
SpeedEuphoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 09:19 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Montreal QC CA
Posts: 263
low temp slows the life cycle of the bacteria

i did put enough fish food in the sponges (that are still dripped in water in the HOB filter)
my problem is if that is enough ammonia generator ;(((
__________________
MisticX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 10:51 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
An t-iasg's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Criders Corners, PA
Posts: 9,889
It should be - like you said, the lower temps of the frig slow down the bacteria's activity a bit, so it doesn't need as much ammonia as it would in tank temperature water. However, you could always add a drop or two of ammonia instead of fish food.
__________________







An t-iasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 10:59 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Montreal QC CA
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by An t-iasg View Post
It should be - like you said, the lower temps of the frig slow down the bacteria's activity a bit, so it doesn't need as much ammonia as it would in tank temperature water. However, you could always add a drop or two of ammonia instead of fish food.
i tried searching for NH products, (pure without other ingredients) but i did not find any.
all bottles i was shaking were foaming.
all i have at my disposal right now is zoundz of fish food (pellets, flakes shrimp)

do you think the NH generated by food is enough ? because i have no problem adding into the filter ;PP
__________________
MisticX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 11:26 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
An t-iasg's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Criders Corners, PA
Posts: 9,889
Yes, I think the food would be enough to generate some ammonia, because it worked for me. Try to judge the amount of food added as the amount that would sustain your current bioload.
__________________

__________________







An t-iasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clear, fungus, jungle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jungle Fungus Clear GouramiFanatic Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 7 02-11-2007 02:30 PM
Jungle Labs parasite clear tabs shaunakadub Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 3 05-09-2006 04:34 PM
To anyone who uses the Jungle Labs CO2 Fizz Factory u2_Crazy Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 3 01-22-2006 01:16 PM
Gill Flukes, Jungle Labs Parasite Guard (Crystal) soh15 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 2 07-18-2005 02:33 PM
Jungle Labs CO2 products aquazen Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 8 11-13-2004 09:39 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.