loach sick? What to do?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

current516

Aquarium Advice Activist
I just noticed that one of my zebra loaches has a swollen stomach and seems lethargic. He's just kind've sitting on the bottom.

My other fish seem fine. I'm going to try to do some research and figure it out. I dont want to over- or under-react, does anyone have any ideas?

Is this something that could spread to my other fish? Do I need to act fast? What should I do?

thanks

Im no expert but i know that loaches do get fat. Its normal, especially with Clown loach.

I dont know a lot about Zebra's (Striata) but my brother has 3 young zebra's that dart about together from time to time.

What size is your sick one? I think once they get to a certain age or size, lazyness kicks in. I have a really fat yoyo and he sits ALL DAY! under his wood and comes out, zipping around at night.

Also could he have been overfed?

my loaches spend a lot of the time lying on the bottom of the tank "resting". often they look dead--lying on their sides completely not moving--until i start to freak out--and then they twitch just a little so i know they're alive. lazy buggers!

hmm…

Now it's swimming aroud and eating, but its stomach is still swollen. Maybe constipated? Don't know it it's male or female. Could a she be swollen with eggs? hmm... maybe I'm worrying too much.

Satsumas said:
Also could he have been overfed?

I guess so? I try not to overfeed but can't control the number of snails it might have eaten. I just put in some new plants yesterday. Maybe it over-indulged on hitchhikers.

I think I read that Epsom Salts (Magnesium Sulfate) is good for constipation (and plants).. perhaps adding a little wouldn't hurt anyway..

How big is "swollen", could it be "I ate too much" swollen?

Wizzard~Of~Ozz said: