Loopy Panda Cory

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jaydro

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just got my second batch of panda cories, and one of them seems to have some kind of equilibrium problem: the little guy is always rolling to the left when swimming. If he goes any distance he looks like a football (US, not soccer) in a perfect spiral pass.

My first concern is: is this a symptom of any contagious disease? I'm a newbie, so I don't know much--my first attempt to find info turned up whirling disease, but I don't think that's what this is. But maybe I'm wrong.

FWIW, the first three I got a few weeks ago are all doing fine, as are the other two I just got.

Equilibrium problems suggest a swimbladder problem. It can be due to a lot of things, but in this case, it could be due to a bacterial infection caused by stress (of moving to your tank, or due to infection at the LFS). If you have a quarantine tank (which I doubt), you should put the new batch there for a few weeks.

Now, what can you do for this cory: not much except treat with a broad spectrum antibiotics (attention, here I assume that your tank is cycled, and that your readings -ammonia, nitrite, nitrate- are good).

Before you do that, make sure to explain to us 1) the size of the tank, 2) what you have in, 3) what are your readings.

Thanks, astroguy. Per your request:

25 gal
3 marigold swag swordtails
6 panda cories

Tank fully cycled--0's on ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, 7.0 pH
76 degrees

No QT.