Lost a couple of cories

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Taelen

Aquarium Advice Freak
Well, I woke up this morning and checked on my 10g planted. One of my panda cories and one of my peppered cories had died. No visible clues so I could only assume an issue with the water.

Immediately I checked parameters and came up with:

pH = 6.4-6.5
ammonia = 0.15
nitrite = 0
nitrate = 10

Only thing I haven't checked yet was the kH but I don't see how that could have changed. Last PWC was over a week ago.

There are 3 of each cory and 1 betta in this tank. A couple of the other cories were a bit off as well. I did a 75% PWC right away and I'll see how everyone is doing when I get home.

Last edited:
I'm sorry for your loss. Any reason why ammonia is showing up? New tank, mini-cycle? Is the temp ok? I'm not an expert by any means but I figured I would ask some basic questions.

The ammonia could be a result of the death, rather than the cause, and at that low a reading, it would depend on the brand of test kit as to how much I'd trust it. Of course, keep an eye on it.

Do you have A/C? Given recent weather, heat would be my first suspect. Other potential causes outside the water: chemicals sprayed nearby, painting in a nearby room, dumb roomates...

I don't know of decaying plant matter could be a cause of the ammonia blip, as I posted in another thread, my hornwort is struggling a bit. I am watching it close now. The fish basically died in a very short span, so I'm not really convinced they would be the cause either. I only use the API liquid test kit.

As far as the other factors go, we do have A/C and the house is normally 22-24 degrees, I have thermometers in all my tanks and the temperatures are all ok. Negative on the other things you mentioned.

Would that little ammonia cause death?