Missing scales

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Unr3a1

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey all. I am new to these forums, and new to fish keeping. I have a 20 gallon tank with three fish in it. A black moor, a calico, and a white and orange oranda.

The Oranda is what I am concerned about, because on his right side, he is missing a few scales all of the sudden, and he is not eating. It has only been two days of this, but like I said, I am new to fish keeping and I really don't know what to do.

I do water changes every week, add chemicals to lower the nitrites, nitrates, amonia, etc etc and even put salt in for stress relief.

My other two fish are doing great, so I really don't know what is going on with my oranda. Thanks for any and all help.

EDIT

I was actually just looking at him again, and noticed that when he breathes, his right gill doesn't move at all. He is not breathing through his right side gill, only his left. What could cause this!?

Chemicals to lower ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates?

How long has this tank been running? An established tank should not need chemicals or salt... just dechlorinator when water is added.

What are your water levels (pH, ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, temp)?

The tank has only been running for a month. I had the water tested last week, and it was a little high in amonia, and the store said the water was a little hard, but other than that the water is fine.

As of right now, I do not have a thermometer to measure the temperature, but since the other two fish are doing great, I assume it is at a proper level. The orange and white oranda only started acting like this two days ago, and that was when the scales were first missing.