Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-18-2012, 01:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Unhappy Molly sitting at bottom of tank?

My boyfriend and I just bought 2 dalmatian mollies yesterday. One is a male and one is a female. I'm new to owning fish and am a bit concerned about my male Molly. He was fine yesterday after we introduced him to the new tank but now he is staying around the bottom of the tank and not swimming too much. The water temperature is around 78F and he ate a bit when I fed them. I have read about cycling and am wondering if this is the reason he's not doing well. I also have a black mystery snail in the tank with them.

Old 01-18-2012, 04:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Obsessed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish_are_friends
My boyfriend and I just bought 2 dalmatian mollies yesterday. One is a male and one is a female. I'm new to owning fish and am a bit concerned about my male Molly. He was fine yesterday after we introduced him to the new tank but now he is staying around the bottom of the tank and not swimming too much. The water temperature is around 78F and he ate a bit when I fed them. I have read about cycling and am wondering if this is the reason he's not doing well. I also have a black mystery snail in the tank with them.
Hi and welcome!
It most likely is because the tank is cycling and he is not agreeing with the ammonia present (no fish does). Do you own a test kit? What size tanl? I will post some links for you to read.
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...now/Page2.html
Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
You are going to have to commence large daily water changes to keep your fish alive and healthy.
Any questions don't be afraid to ask!

Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 04:21 PM   #3
Daphnia are People Too.