molly staying at top or bottom of tank help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

country_girl

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello I am new to this and new to fish, I have a molly Dalmatian fish that I have had for a few months now I have moved her into a bigger tank 4 weeks ago and put 3 new fish in with her 3 weeks ago they are doing fine acting normal but 2 days ago I have noticed my first fish seems lethargic she was just staying at the top of the tank I thought she was dead for a second she seems to try to eat but not as much as she normally does and I have noticed after the morning feeding she will go to the bottom of the tank and just sit there. I dont think shes eating much as the food will float by her and she goes to get it but goes after the bubbles? Her top fin is kinda floppy too bit standing up like normal. I put cycle in every monday havent done a water change or filter change since its only been 3 weeks ive been told once a month? Tank sits at 76-80F
any ideas?

Attachments

• 20140725_065918.jpg
    20140725_065918.jpg
    191.4 KB · Views: 164
  • 20140725_071547.jpg
    20140725_071547.jpg
    253.3 KB · Views: 98
Your Molly

Hello country...

What is your water change routine and are you putting aquarium salt in the water?

Molly tanks should have half or more of the water removed and replaced every week. They also like a little aquarium salt in their water. A couple of teaspoons for every 5 gallons of replacement water is good. Floating plants are especially important to livebearing fish. The fish feel secure. I mostly use Hornwort. Anacharis and Pennywort are good to. All help keep the tank water clean between water changes.

Keep the tank water clean and you'll have no tank problems.

B