My fish keep dying off for some reason

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JMarlow89

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello! I was wondering if anyone can shed some light on this for me. I am not a novice at owning a aquarium. I have had them for many years. As of now my fish are slowly dying off one by one. This has been happening for the past 6 months. I keep the water clean and all of the maintenance up as well.

Here is what I have:

125 gallon freshwater planted tank.
Fluval FX-5 canister filter/ Fluval 405 canister filter with attached Coralife 9x UV sterilizer.
The water parameters are:

PH 6.8
Ammonia 0ppm
Nitrite 0ppm
Nitrate 40ppm
Temp is 78 degrees

Here is the livestock

1 large angel ( had angel pair but the male died )
2 small baby angels
8-10 neon tetras ( numerous died )
10 black skirt tetras ( 2 died )
4 loaches
6 cory cats ( 1 died )
nerite snails
1 platy
1 discus
1 peacock eel ( dead )

I clean the filters once a month. I have the fx5 as the workhorse mechanical and chemical filter which houses 2 liters of Seachem nitrate reducer, Chemi-pure carbon, poly filters and coarse pre-filters.

The 406 houses all the biological filters. I have Ehiem substrate, the glass cylinders and the bio-foam.

If anyone could help with the possible problems I would greatly appreciate it!

Welcome to AA!!!

Let's see if we can try to figure out what may be happening here as it sounds like a tough situation without any clear cut answers.

You mention this starting around 6 months ago. Did you add any new fish and/or plants that were not properly quarantined for a couple weeks around this time or in the months prior to this point? What is your normal water change schedule?