My little zebra danios are dying fast!! HELP!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

thursyanna

Aquarium Advice Freak
I bought 8 zebra danios to help cycle a starter tank. 5 gal, I know its small but I'm just getting some media ready for my 55 gal I'm still setting up.
I lost 1 on Sunday, 2 today, and I have a sick one tonihgt. I ran tests on my tanks and I came up with Nitrate 20, Nitrite 0, GH 300, KH 180, PH 7.8.
I don't know much about these things except Nitrite is bad, nitrate is good, and my PH needs to be around 7(?).
I was going to attach his picture but for some reason the attachment part is not working.
He's loosing his color just like the other 3 did.

Yeah ammonia needs to be known. Also, I think 8 may be too much even to cycle a 5 gallon.

You're probably right about the number. I'm new to this so I thought since they were small, I could have 8. I'm down to 4 now. :(
I'll check my ammonia level. I don't know what it is.
I appreciate the help on this. I love my little fish!

Also how long has it been set up?

I set it up Sat morning. I was trying to do a fish-in cycle. I guess I'm not too good at that. I've been checking my levels twice a day and my ph was a little high at first but it's 7.8 now. I don't know my ammonia levels. I did a pwc of 20% so we'll see what it looks like tonight.
Lost my 4th fish last night. Sad, he was a beautiful danio.
Here's a pic of what he was looking like before he died. He was starting to lose his coloring. :(

Attachments

• sick zebra danio.jpg.jpg
    sick zebra danio.jpg.jpg
    202.1 KB · Views: 86