New fish are slowing!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tornadonick

Aquarium Advice Freak
recently i got my 29g set up, a couple days ago I put in a couple plattys and mollys. today I have been watching them and they seem a lot slower than usual, my redwag platty is haning out at the bottom not doing much, and my balloon molly keeps haning out at the top apparantly gulping up air? I have tested and my results where
0 amonia
0 nitrites
about 3 nitrates
PH, i am a noob and cant remember what it was but i know that was normal. what could be doing this? am i over reacting?

Did you keep an air pump?! If not keep it. I think so that yourballoon molly needs some oxygen. Thatz why it is gulping at the top. Anyways i am a newbie only. It is better that you consult others too.

I do have one, but not installed yet(yet another thing i cant find around here), I will look for it and try to get it in as soon as possible, but the other ones are acting a little off too, not real bad but I want to get this taken care of!

I cycled my tank for about a week, but i also stole some water from my sister, ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates seem fine, although nitrates apear to be smaller then most people report

Sorry chief but it takes longer than a week to cycle a tank and unfortunately there is almost no bacteria in the water. It is mainly in the filter media. Since you already have fish you need to read up on cycling a tank with fish. And you need to immediately do a pwc.

Assuming that it is that, i do not have enough room in my sisters tank for them, what would I do to get them out? how can i try to fix this?