New tank, Fish dead after 2 days

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DTCubone104

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So I'm new to fish for the most part, and thought I had some my homework well enough but after 2 days all the fish I had in my tank are dead :facepalm:: I honestly have no idea what caused it, so perhaps someone has some ideas.

I have a 6 gallon tank (small apt all I have room for atm) that has been doing a fishless cycle for alittle over a month. It took 3 weeks to cycle then a weekish of being cycled but no fish (with me still adding ammonia during the week to keep my new Bactria friends happy)

I did a large water change the night before I got my fish to get my nitrates down. My API kit read 0 ammonia, 0 Nitrites and between 10 and 20 nitrates, as I can't see a difference between those colors at all at the chart. PH was 7.4 and temp is around 74 as well.

With my tank seemingly ready I put in 6 Celestial Pearl Danios, I would have liked to do 3 at a time, but had to do all 6 at once. To put them in the tank, I let the bag they came in float in the tank for about 15 minutes, then added a bit of tank water to the bag and let that float for another 15 minutes. After that I netted the fish out of the bag and into the tank, so that no bag water would get in the tank. I kept the tank lights off for 2 hours and did little to disturb them until about 8 hours later, when I attempted to feed them. I put in a small amount of food and scooped/vacuumed up what they did not eat around 5 minutes later. I did not watch to see if they ate as I did not want to distress them anymore then they already were.