Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-04-2012, 12:21 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Newbie with ick

Hi. I'm fairly new with fish keeping and I'm dealing with my first case of ick. I was mainly wondering what it is, what it can do to my fish, and if there is an easy way to treat it. Any help would be appreciated!

Old 10-04-2012, 05:59 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

ICK is fungal. Aquarium salt at 1 tablespoon to 5 gallons will help. Raise temp in tank to 82. Vacuum gravel ALOT! It breeds in gravel. Depending on what fish u have?, - Quick Cure will help. It can be fatal so act quick

Old 10-04-2012, 07:15 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

That temp is not accurate for curing ich. It needs to be higher but raised slowly.

If you do a search on here for ich you will find a lot of threads on it and curing it with heat and AQ Salts with out having to use any medications, just search in the search bar located on this site ich and you will be sure to find them, but 82 is not warm enough at all.

Good luck
Old 10-04-2012, 12:27 PM   #4
jlk
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkiggy View Post
ICK is fungal. Aquarium salt at 1 tablespoon to 5 gallons will help. Raise temp in tank to 82. Vacuum gravel ALOT! It breeds in gravel. Depending on what fish u have?, - Quick Cure will help. It can be fatal so act quick