Newbie with septicemia and Fishrot =./

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jcvera

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am a newbie, I've only had my fish for a month because I brought it to my dorm and it was originally my boyfriend's. I have a white goldfish and an orange one( idk if the orange one is a goldfish... thats how inexperienced i am)
* I also bought a catfish a week ago that i found dead in the corner and its insides were completely gone (It was obviously munched on by one of the others)
* Two days later my white goldfish had specks on it and then it appeared to be inflamed because her tail was turning red with streaks. Her tail was falling off and so were her scales! I was terrified to say the least! (Im a vegetarian and studying to be a vet)
* Through research i found she has septicemia and fin rot so i purchased Maracyn 2 and took the filter out so it wouldnt absorb the medicine and its day 2 of the treatment. I didnt remove the orange fish because he most likely has it too however no symptoms have been observed.
*My question to you is WHAT ELSE SHOULD I DO???? I heard about some ammonia tests or nitrate tests? I'm at a complete loss right now and the white goldfish looks very very ill. I just dont want her to die =./
* My tank is 3 gallons, and i dont know how to test for different levels.
*I have an tetra small filter i believe with an led bubbler, fake plants made for aquariums and a pineapple home for my fish.
*The white gollfish is 3inches not including its poor tail and the orange one is half its size.
*I dont know what it means to vaccum the gravel?I thought you were suppose to empty out the whole tank every week change the water with tap and add aquasafe before you added your other fish back in.
*Also i feed them tetrafin goldfish flakes but ive been over feeding them probably, but they look so hungry! HELP PLEASE