Oscars Laying on bottom?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ricky@3rdshift

Aquarium Advice Regular
Ok I need some advice on Oscars. I am at a loss searching.

I work at Petco...Ok OK I know I know... I am working in the aquatics dept and I have been given the area to get in shape and re organize as they have not had any reputable "fish" people in a smallwhile. Hey I am trying, but I have limited knowledge when it comes to pests or diseases.

Ok situation is I have a couple Tiger Oscars in a tank been in the system for about 2 weeks.They have been swimming eating, and pretty personally attentive when someone walks up etc... UNTIL today

Yesterday I did a gravel vac on the tanks, cleaned the glass with an algae pad, topped off the sumps with filtered dechlorinated water etc... Everything good when I left last night they ate really well, etc...

This morning I come in They are layingaround on the bottom kinda lounging around. I walk up the pick up a little I drop a few pellets of food in and they perk right up and eat then go back to the bottom. Breathing seems fine no visable sposts on them no raking against the decor, or anything except laying on the bottom.

Water parametrs are all in check, no amonia, small amount of Nitrates, PH was a hair low for these guys 7.0, but I added some PH up till I can get a buffer to stablize it . Should be around 7.8 Right? Nothing else is outta whack. Temp is around 78 and holding.

Any suggestions what I should look for? Is this normal? Maybe its an internal parasite? I have not noticed anthing in the poo.

Thanks in advance for any replies.
Ricky
Saving one Petco at a time. ...:) LOL!!