Patchy Clown Loach... Please help!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishkeeper07

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello!

This is my first time posting, hope I do everything right.

I set up my 50 gallon (bought used) about 6 weeks ago. I rinsed the gravel, tank and ornaments in water but left the filter to help cycle the water faster. Since I have had it I've done 2 x 20% water changes and cleaned the filter out once.

I brought the water to a fish store a month ago and the shopkeeper said I was good to start introducing fish. The 4 x white cloud minnows I put in to start held up well so shortly after I introduced 3 x clown loaches (I plan on getting 3 more), a Chinese algae eater and a large Synodontis catfish.

This morning I noticed one of my clown loaches was missing. After looking around the tank I eventually found him - dried up on the carpet between the tank and the couch :( He managed to jump the 5 inches required to clear the tank (no lid - looking for one now!!). In the process of looking for him I noticed another one of my loaches had some weird patches on him, the best I can describe them is kind of shiny and white. I will attach some photos.

First thing that came to mind is ich as I know that clown loaches are prone to it but after looking at photos online of ich I'm not convinced that's what it is. Below are my water parameters tested today:

Ph: 7.4
Ammonia: 0.25 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Nitrate: 80 ppm
Temp: 79

I know my nitrate is high. I think it may that the carbon in my filter is old but I don't have any to replace it with (can get some in the next few days). It came with the filter (used) and I have no idea how long it was used for before I got it. Would it be better to just remove the carbon for now and run the filter without it? I have heard that when carbon gets old it starts releasing what it has previously absorbed.