Please Help - fish novice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sorsky_65

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,

I will just apologise in advance for 1) the essay your about to read 2) the upset I cause any fish lovers by reading what I have done to my poor fish.

I am a complete novice when it comes to fish! 3 years ago a girl who had 2 goldfish in a tiny vase as she had nocked the small bowl they where in and didn't want to spend any more money gave them to me as it was give him to me or in her words "get flushed" knowing that this I took them off her hands immediately.

The next day I searched for a tank never had a fish before and not doing much research I just wanted something that was affordable that wasn't this small vase to put them in. I bought a second hand fuval edge 23 ltr tank (I know, I know) and that's where they stayed 2 years in 1 of them died without any warning signs (it's only know I realise this was probably due to the size of his tank)

Fast forward one year on and that's where Geoff has lived..alone in the fuval edge 23ltr tank. But has always been very responsive and swims around as (much as he can) eating etc.

Very recently my parents where getting rid of their 250+Ltr tank, brilliant filter, live plants, moss stones, ornaments, air stones etc and asked me if I wanted it as you can imagine I said yes strait away big new home for Geoff with other fish he could be sociable with the only problem was it is a tropical tank, I googled if the fish where comparable (Mollys, 1angelfish, plates, red balloon bellys etc) and got mixed reviews but seen videos of them living together fine.