Please help!! Urgent!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Omega_blue

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,
i am new to aquariums, i have spent a lot of time researching etc before i set up my tank. i now firmly believe that my tank has ammonia poisoning, and i have been doing water changes every day (after 3 of 7 fish i put in died.) the fish that died are 2 swordtails (one male and one female) and a columbian tetra. as of now, the rainbow shark, one of the other columbian tetras, and the swordtail are now doing fine after i introduced some aquarium salt and a water change (about 20%) my issue i am having now though, is that one of my columbian tetras is swimming aroundd really strangely, like an airplane doing a dive bomb and spinning, and it sinks to the bottom, and stays there on its side or back for a period of time, then starts to swim around kind of violently with no direction (mainly in circles).

it also has some cottony looking growth on both of its eyeballs, and i was wondering what i can do to save him, especially since 3 other fish have died in the process of getting to this point (since last thursday september 22 2011) the tap water quality i dont think is too great here in WI, so after the water change i did last night (the only one) i added some more conditioner, and aquarium salt and allowed 15-20 minutes to flow through the tank and dissolve. im not sure what to do with the tetra that is dying :( PLEASE HELP!!

my nitrite and nitrate levels are at 0 because it is within the 2 week period of first starting the tank. The lady at petco told me that the ammonia levels are between 1.0-3.0 according to her scale.