Question about Treating the Tank with Meds

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bethinla

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi

I'm very new at all this. I'm fishie sitting for a a friend, whose currently serving in Iraq. Aprox. 4 mths before becoming active, he acquired a round coffee table aquarium (20-gal. I think) was housing 3 goldfish (2 Ryukin, 1 Crown red/white) 1 betta, and 3 three very small African dwarf aquatic frogs. I've had them now since the middle of April. He’s using a very fine sand for substrate, an underwater fluval Plus 3, that sits on the bottom of the tank, and a round green air stone attached to a Tetra tec AP 100. When he first brought it over, he put the water from home back in the tank when he set it up here. The water had a yellow tint to it. I did some research and found out the chemistry was all wrong, the PH was very very low, the NH was high and there was a little amonia in the tank. I finally got everything normal by doing a 20/25 % water change every other day. I have been continuing with a 20%water change once a week. And everything seemed fine for awhile, then 2 weeks ago a long gel like string, half of it was clear and half of it brownish orange in color appeared in the tank. The next day a froggie died, and I noticed after hovering over the tank for an hour, the Crown red/white appeared to have some scales missing along the dorsal fin. The LFS (petco), thinking it was intestinal blockage, suggested I change the froggies diet from sinking pellets, to frozen blood worms, and treat the tank with Melafix, so I did.