Shubunkin hanging nose up at surface

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Athena18

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey all,

I'm rather new to the fish care world. I found out I got some bad advice at the start and ended up with an overstocked goldfish tank. I had 3 koi, 2 shubunkin, 3 comets, 2 fantails, and a pleco all in a 45 gal tank. I've had the fish a week now and just today moved the 3 koi and 2 shubunkins to another 46 gal tank. I took the week to try to slowly match my two tanks pH levels. I moved them when I thought the tanks stabilized around 7.6.

The koi fish seem happy now and the one shubunkin seems ok. The other shubunkin is spending a lot of time nose up on the surface. It's not really gasping much though. Do you think it'll be ok? Should I be worried? It swims normal for a bit, then sits at the surface, then laid on the bottom and kinda repeats. It's fins look a bit ragged at the tips but ok, no redness or anything.

The original goldfish tank still tests high for ammonia, but is basically ok on nitrites and nitrates. I'm guessing that's because the bacteria cycle hasn't started yet. I added some Topfin ammonia remover and a bacteria supplement to that tank. I'm planning on doing a water change this weekend, but apparently my water is acidic, so I think I have to pretreat before adding/exchanging. Am I doing the right things?

I just need a sanity check as I've overloaded myself with info from the web. Thanks!

Welcome to AA!!!

Unfortunately, you have been offered some very poor advice on your fish. Koi simply are not suitable to home aquaria unless you have an indoor pond. Shubunkins and comets are also best suited to pond environments though can be kept in large tanks with lots of water changes.

Do you have a decent liquid test kit for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and ph? What do these numbers read?