Sick beta new fish owner!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

_macaronni_

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm new to owning fish. I have a 10 gallon tank with a regent filter system. I did everything the salesperson told me to. I used the Bettasafe liquid that makes tap water safe for bettas and had my tank up and running 3 hours before I put the fish in. I acclimated him to the water by letting his container float on the water for the full 3 hrs. I've had him since Christmas and 3 days ago I noticed he was covered in white spots. I went to pet smart and they gave me "jungle Ick Clear" I've used it as directed but he still isn't getting any better. Can anyone help me? ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1420330891.137637.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1420330913.152823.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Well your tank is not cycled for one thing. What is your temperature at?

Turn the heater up 1 degree every 2 hours until 86 degrees. Get some aquarium salt from petsmart and dose the tank 1/2 teaspoon per gallon.

I would also get a bottle of tetra safe start in hopes that you could cycle the tank quicker. Do some research on nitrogen cycle as ammonia and nitrites can kill your fish.

Also you should do a water change tonight. You need to use a dechlorinator to treat the tap water before you put it in as those chemicals will also kill your fish.

And if you get the tetra safe start wait 24 hours after water change because the declorinator kills the bacteria

Try using API pimafix. I had two platies that had a fungal infection that sounds similar to yours.

Try using API pimafix. I had two platies that had a fungal infection that sounds similar to yours.

You may want to do a little research on that bit of Advice. .
Op - ignore this please..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app