Sick Molly

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nats-fishies

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello I'm rather new to the fish hobby but I have 2 Dalmatian mollies along with a few other community fish. They were all living happy in the 33 gallon tank when they all got Ick. I have been treating everyone in the tank for that when the while molly now has Popeye. I moved her to a separate hospital tank yesterday to treat for both Ick and Popeye but this am noticed she has given birth to many offspring. Im not sure what to do now. Should I get yet another tank and move her again so that I'm not treating the fry for Ick and Popeye? I don't want to hurt the babies. Please help! I feel horrible and I don't want any of my fish to die or be sick.

Also what should I feed these fry? Again new to the fish hobby but willing to do whatever to keep all my fish alive and healthy.

I'm not real familiar with mollies. I hope someone can help you.

Holy cow that is giant dilemma. You want to definitely move the Molly to another tank to treat her. You would have to move her anyway because she will eat her own fry. Feed them crushed flakes ( MUST BE GROUND TO DUST ) or baby brine shrimp. What is the temp in the tanks with ick?

So after work I went out and got another smaller tank to put momma molly in until she can go back to the large tank. Right now she seems to be leaving all the fry alone and hasn't tried eating them. I'm giving the new tank a little time to cycle but she will be moved very soon. Then I can continue the Ick and Popeye treatments. I hope she makes a full recovery. Papa molly is still in the big tank and seems to be missing her.